God gives us strength for TODAY

22215342_820617588117751_95951591_n

Yesterday, my pastor preached from Hebrews 12:4-11 which addresses our Father’s discipline of us through trials, suffering, and difficulty.  Providentially, that sermon and text spoke to me specifically as I am going through this ordeal of healing after Achilles tendon rupture surgery.  Don’t you love it when God does that?  It is wonderful.

My pastor exegeted several exellent teaching points for us, but one in particular stood out to me and it is something I have heard many times.  This time it was like a siren blaring; it really got my attention.  When we are in the midst of suffering or hardship or a trial, it is easy to begin to look too far down the road.  “What am I going to do if this is still going on a week from now?  A month from now?”  And we begin to panic and are filled with anxiety.  I could particularly relate to this because I struggle with anxiety.  Anyhow, my pastor emphasized that God gives us strength for today.  He doesn’t fill us up with a week’s worth or a month’s worth because if He did then we wouldn’t come back to Him for a week or a month.  God wants us to come to Him daily for our needs and to rely on Him day by day.

“So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Matthew 6:34

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  2 Corinthians 12:9

The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness. 
Lamentations 3:22-23

 

 

One thought on “God gives us strength for TODAY

Leave a Reply

