Made to Worship

14962993_607933326052846_1438936518_nWe were made to worship.  This is evidenced plainly in the manufacturing of false religions by the unregenerate multitudes.  If one is not worshiping the one true God, one will worship something, be it self, materialism, other people, or a false god.  People cannot opt to not worship, it is part of our basic programming. 

What is most intriguing to me, is that we are designed to worship God for our own good.  God does not need our worship.  He is worthy of our worship, but He is completely sufficient within Himself.  I think it’s pretty common for people to assume God made man because He wanted people to worship Him; as in he needed something to generate worship of Him. Before I was saved, and certainly for a time as a new believer I was under this impression. But the Bible says in Acts 17:25 of God “nor is He served by human hands, as though He needed anything, since He Himself gives to all people life and breath and all things.”  Doesn’t that sort of boggle your mind a bit?  When I first realized this fact about God’s sufficiency and lack of need of our worship it gave me pause.  Like many things of His kingdom, it is upside down and backwards from the ways of this world.  “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:8-9)

God the creator made us to be worshipers, and designed that facet of our nature in such a way that it is for our good!  Meditating on that fact inspires my heart to be in awe of Him.  

Psalm 95

O come, let us sing for joy to the Lord,
Let us shout joyfully to the rock of our salvation.
 Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving,
Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.
For the Lord is a great God
And a great King above all gods,
In whose hand are the depths of the earth,
The peaks of the mountains are His also.
The sea is His, for it was He who made it,
And His hands formed the dry land.

 Come, let us worship and bow down,
Let us kneel before the Lord our Maker.
 For He is our God,
And we are the people of His pasture and the sheep of His hand.
Today, if you would hear His voice,
 Do not harden your hearts, as at Meribah,
As in the day of Massah in the wilderness,
 “When your fathers tested Me,
They tried Me, though they had seen My work.
 “For forty years I loathed that generation,
And said they are a people who err in their heart,
And they do not know My ways.
“Therefore I swore in My anger,
Truly they shall not enter into My rest.”

Soli Deo Gloria!

 

Leave a Reply

